Can the team give a duplicate answer during the Spontaneous problem?

Responses from the team members may be judged as either “creative” or “common.” An objective of the Spontaneous competition is for team members to try to respond with creative rather than common responses, and so the creative responses receive higher scores. We also recognize that a team member can become stuck, and the only response they may be able to come up with is one that has already been given. So yes, a team member can give a repeat answer, and it will be judged as common, no matter whether it was originally judged as creative or common. You might want to review the Odyssey of the Mind Program Guide for further information; a link to it is available on the Resources page.

Posted in: FAQs for Odyssey Team Members, FAQs for Spontaneous

Permanent link to this article: